Note: If you're not a developer and you don't have any integrations/addons then you probably don't need to worry about this! If you're unsure, read on to learn more.
HTTP Basic Authentication is a mechanism used to authorise requests to an API. It has worked well for us and our customers, but as things mature and our customers become more security conscious we decided to replace it with more secure protocol called OAuth.
It's not a given that this change will affect you in any way. It will not matter to retailers who use Vend without any integrations or those using our most popular integrations such as Xero or Shopify. It will most likely impact you if you have commissioned a custom integration or are using some kind of scripted process to get data out of Vend. If you are not sure, you should get in touch with the developer who has created this software for you. If you, or the developer, need any assistance or have any further questions regarding this change, get in touch with us at: email@example.com.
We've set the date for the 1st of May 2016. While this date has changed in the past, you should treat this one as final and assume that on the 1st of May 2016 basic authentication will stop working and it will only be possible to authorise custom integrations using OAuth or Personal Tokens.
In a continued effort to offer our customers world class services, we want to make sure that your data is safe with us. A few months ago we have disabled access to Vend (for the web app and the API) via HTTP. From then on Vend can only be accessed over an HTTPS connection. Deprecating Basic Authentication is the next step on the road to making Vend as secure as possible.
You can see who is accessing your data and most importantly we can see who is causing issues in case things go wrong. It's important for us to be able to identify applications causing issues for our customers and Basic Auth did not allow this.
With OAuth and Personal Tokens, the identity of the app accessing your data is not bound to a user in your account. That means that you can revoke access for every app you are using separately, without changing any user details.
Nope, you're all good. We have created those integrations and have made sure they will work with this change.
The following providers have worked with us to prepare for this change and if you use their service/product you should be good to go:
There's still a chance that some of these providers may not have migrated all their connections to use OAuth. We recommend, therefore, that you get in touch with your provider to confirm that your account is already migrated.
Nope. Basic Auth is going away. Fortunately though, we have an alternative solution: Personal Tokens. It's just as simple at Basic Auth to use but much more flexible and secure. More details here.